Holy Monastery of XENOPHON The twenty monasteries in hierarchical order are as follows:


Holy Monastery of  MEGISTI LAVRA


Holy Monastery of  VATOPEDION


Holy Monastery of  IVIRON

D'  Holy Monastery of  HILANDARION

Holy Monastery of  DIONYSOS


Holy Monastery of  KOUTLOUMOUSION


Holy Monastery of  PANTOKRATOR


Holy Monastery of  XIROPOTAMOS


Holy Monastery of  ZOGRAFOS


Holy Monastery of  DOCHIARIOS


Holy Monastery of  KARAKALOS


Holy Monastery of  FILOTHEOS


Holy Monastery of  SIMON PETRAS


Holy Monastery of  SAINT (AGIOS) PAVLOS


Holy Monastery of  STAYRONIKITAS


Holy Monastery of   XENOPHON


Holy Monastery of  GREGORIOS


Holy Monastery of  ESFIGMENOS


Holy Monastery of  PANTELEIMON


Holy Monastery of  KOSTAMONITIS


Mount Athos is situated in the entire third, eastern and most beautiful peninsula of Halkidiki, called the peninsula of Athos. It is the only place in Greece that is completely dedicated to prayer and worship of God.
For this reason, it is called the Holy Mount.
The Holy Mount is about 50 Km in length, 8 to 12 Km in width and it covers an area of about 350 square kilometres.
The borders of the monasterial city are defined on the ground by an imaginary line that starts from the location "FRAGOKASTRO" in the West coast and reaches the cape "ARAPIS" in the opposite end.
The natural beauty of the peninsula is extraordinary. The highest point of Mount Athos is like a huge cone, reaching 2033 metres in height. Itís a naked, treeless crest that seems to lance the sky and its slopes are fully covered by ancient evergreens. All these help to create an area of incomparable natural beauty.

Political Situation

The Holy Mount is a self- governed part of the Greek state, subject to the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in its political aspect and to the Ecumenical Patriarch of Constantinopole as regards its religious aspect.
It has been divided into twenty self- governed territories. Each territory consists of a cardinal monastery and some other monastic establishments that surround it (cloisters, cells, cottages, seats, hermitages).
All the monasteries are communes (of a convent nature) which means that there is common liturgy, prayer, housing, nourishing and work among the monks. The Superior of the monastery, being elected by the monks for life, is responsible for the affairs of the monastery. The Superiors of the monasteries are members of the Holy Assembly and exercise legislative authority.
Moreover, every year the monastery elects its representative to the Holy Community which exercises administrative authority, while the Holy Supervision exercises executive authority and consists of 4 members, elected by the 5 hierarchically preceding monasteries.

Information about the monasteries.
Living monastically.
The offer of monachism.
A visit to a monastery.
Where is Agion Oros.
How to reach Agion Oros.

Other Information
Help about these pages.
A quick glance in two panoramic pages.
Calibrate your screen.
Other Links of Mount Athos.

Welcome page
Read our news in first page
Language choice (first page)

Special pages
Virtual Walk in Mount Athos - Feel like you've really been on Mount Athos.
New ! we have bring you religious gifts and prayer ropes from Mount Athos.
Light a candle
Millenium 998 - 1998 Holy Monastery of Xenophontos
Subscribe to our mailing list
Back Home Next help messages walk in Mount Athos Help Photo indexing Contact with us credits map of Mount Athos Language Select

Mount Athos
Iera monh Xenofontos